2013 National Merit Scholarship semi-finalists announced

Five West Linn High School seniors Michaela Laughlin, Hunter Bosson, Sarah Chung, Logan Spear, and Priyanka Basak, recognized this year for their elite academic excellence, have become National Merit semi-finalists. After taking the PSAT/NMSQT 15,000 students are chosen each year, and are labeled as the academic elite and gain national recognition which qualifies them for exclusive opportunity to be nominated for many academic scholarships and monetary rewards.

The Amplifier interviewed Mary Earp, Class of 2013, who was honorably commended, to discuss the doors that can be opened for these five students.

“I didn’t realize what a big opportunity it was to be nominated,” Earp said. “For a long time, I can put this experience down on job and college applications. I am really excited for the five finalists this year.”

For more information go to: http://www.nationalmerit.org/nmsp.php