Damian Lillard named Rookie of the Year

Damian Lillard, rookie guard for the Portland Trail Blazers, was recognized as the NBA’s Rookie of the Year. He is the fourth Trail Blazer to win the award, joining Geoff Petrie (1971), Sidney Wicks (1972) and Brandon Roy (2006).

The decision to award Lillard as the Rookie of the Year was announced yesterday, May 1. Lillard, who entered the league as the sixth overall draft pick, won the award based on a unanimous vote, making him the fourth player to win unanimously. The only other three players to ever win the award unanimously are Blake Griffin (2011), David Robinson (1990) and Ralph Sampson (1984).

In his rookie season, Lillard played more minutes in the regular season than any other player in the NBA, averaging 38.6 minutes per game while playing all 82 games. Lillard also averaged 19 points per game and 6.5 assists per game this season. He became only the third player to score over 1,500 points and earn 500 assists in a rookie season, with only Allen Iverson and Oscar Robertson before him.

Lillard also broke the record for most three pointers in a rookie season, finishing the season with a total of 185 three pointers. The record was previously held by Stephen Curry, who broke the all time NBA record for three pointers in a season this season with 272.

Lillard was an easy pick for the Rookie of the Year award, winning all six of the Rookie of the Month awards during the season. Before joining the NBA, Lillard played at Weber State, where he was named the Big Sky Conference’s Most Valuable Player.

Although Lillard was rewarded for a successful season, the Trail Blazers (33-49) failed to make the playoffs this season and finished the season on a 13 game losing streak.